Running 2,013 Miles in 2013

That is the goal. To run 2,013 miles in 2013.

168 miles a month.

39 miles a week.

5.5 miles a day.

My history as a runner includes a less than stellar career on the high school track team and then rediscovering a fondness for running over the past 2-3 years.

Over the past two years, since I’ve start to run more regularly, I’ve averaged approximately 1,200 – 1,300 miles a year.  Running 2,013 miles will be about a 50 – 60% increase in the amount of mileage.

Suffice it to say that this will be a daunting task.

The sheer amount of mileage will not allow for too many off days. And those off days will have to be counterbalanced with even longer runs on the other days.

There is no set plan on how many miles per day, how many miles per week, or how many miles per month. I’m sure there will be some 20 mile runs.  I’m sure there will be some 50 mile weeks. I’m sure there will be 200 mile months. There will also be some periods where I fall behind the pace.  It’s not the path to 2,013. It’s just getting to 2,013 miles by December 31, 2013.

99% of the miles will be run at at least 10:00-minute mile pace.  The majority of them will be run between a 7:30-minute mile and 8:30 minute-mile pace.

Throughout the year, I also planning on running a few 5k’s, 10k’s, a 10 miler, and a marathon.

The challenges I foresee: lack of time, injury, and my extreme dislike of running in the rain.

So, why do this? To challenge myself.  To force myself to push through in painful, tough, and uncomfortable settings.

Almost all of the miles will be run in either New Jersey or Pennsylvania.  A handful will occur in Ohio, New York, and DC. Maybe other places as well.

What will this blog look like?  I hope to update daily with my progress.  Other topics will include: running generally, nutrition, books, sports, music.

So, I hope you will join me in this endeavor.  In the next few days, I hope to have information on how you can support me in helping a good cause.

Until then, all the best.

One thought on “Running 2,013 Miles in 2013

  1. Lol what? 2013 miles. Totes cray cray. I’d save it all up til December and then run from San Fran to Chicago. Doneskies.

Leave a Reply

