Day 3: Don’t Fear the…Treadmill

>IMG_4552

I don’t fear the treadmill. But I don’t particularly like using it either. All things equal, I much prefer to do my running outside. Running inside can be boring, stuffy, and too mechanical. However, during the winter I’m guessing that between 1-2 of my runs per week will be on the treadmill. This will especially be the case when there are torrential rains or winds that exceed 30mph. Now, some people insist on using a certain % incline to simulate outside running. There has been much debate, with the conventional wisdom settling on using a 1-2% incline. However, recent articles I’ve come across have noted the many variables (wind speed, pace, pressure, weight, calibration, etc) that go into this calculation. So, I’ve come out of this concluding that I will use a different % incline for each treadmill run. I will cycle through 0%, 0.5%, 1%, 1.5%, and 2%. I will keep you updated if this changes.

Last night I ran 5.13 miles in 44:10. The one upside to a treadmill is locking in your pace. In this case, I kept it at a reasonable and relaxing 8:34. So, after yesterday’s run, I am 1.2% of the way to 2,013 miles. 23.2 miles finished, only 1,989.8 to go. At this point, I’m still 6.64 miles ahead of my pace for the year.

I’m really unsure what to do about today’s run. I’m thinking somewhere between 5 and 7 miles. However, I do want to be fresh for the weekend so that I can complete a run of 10+ miles on either Saturday or Sunday. More than likely, I’ll take a slow pace and let my legs decide how much to get in today.

What I ate yesterday: 4 cups of coffee, spinach salad, almonds, banana chips, mac n’ cheese, broccoli, banana, granola, vanilla bean yogurt, crackers and hummus, diet green tea

Running Playlist: The Air France

Song Recommendation: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZdXfkkyI1nQ

Until tomorrow, all the best to everyone.

Leave a Reply

