Day Five: 4.34 miles…into a wall?

So, it appears that my quick start out of the gate has finally caught up to me.  While I haven’t literally hit a wall and there are no injuries to report, my legs are feeling quite weak.  Now, I find myself facing a delicate balancing act.  I probably need to take a day off in the near future.  However, every day off that I take off puts more pressure on ensuring that I fill in each “running” day with more miles.  Furthermore, there isn’t much room for “sick” days or “injury” days if I need them in the future.  So, it looks like I will push my “off” day down the road and only take one when it is absolutely necessary.

Yesterday, I was able to get through a run of 4.34 miles in 37:37, with a 0.5% incline.  Mid 8:30’s pace. 

IMG_4555

I’m fairly confident that this was my least enjoyable run so far.  Less enjoyable than my 14.2 miles run. Right from the start I knew my legs just didn’t have it. For me, I can usually tell how I’m going to feel within the first minute of a run.  And I knew that, even though it was a short run, it would be ugly. And although it was difficult, it has gotten my closer to my goal.  So far, I’ve run 34.7 out of 2,013 miles. 1.7% of the way to 2,013. 7.1 miles ahead of the pace. 

Finally, here are some things that may be of interest to you…

HERE WE GO:

1. Is the NHL Lockout finally over?

2. Movie Trailers of the Week

3. LEGENDARY “movie critic” NEWT GINGRICH reviews Les Miserables. 

Running Playlist:

Teen Daze

Food Consumption:

2 cups of coffee, banana-orange-spinach smoothie, chicken and rice, large amounts of candy

All the best.

Leave a Reply

