Day 43: A Sunny, but Windy 5.65 Miles

So, today is Ash Wednesday.  The beginning of the Lenten season in many different religions.  I’d gently guide you to T.S. Eliot‘s outstanding Ash Wednesday poem.  Oh, and I’ve given up soda for lent.  For someone who drinks a few glasses a week, it will be a bit of a struggle.  I’m assuming the health impact will be modest (as long as I don’t use sugary or other artificial drinks as soda replacements, and instead I opt for water).

Now, to the running.  So, yesterday I ran 5.65 miles.  After having run the hills in the Poconos, it was nice to run on a mostly flat surface.  Although, I did have to endure wind gusts that jumped to 30 mph at times.  But it was an enjoyable run on a nice and sunny winter day.  I kept the pace around the 8:30’s for the majority of the run, only running slower when the wind from the Delaware River wasn’t agreeable.

Today’s run should be somewhere in the 6-8 mile range.  I have classes all day and so it will likely be an evening treadmill run.  I haven’t done intervals in a few days and so I’ll probably pick that up tonight. We’ll see how it goes!

photo (34)

Miles Run Yesterday: 5.65 miles

Total Miles for the Year: 235.32 (1,777.65 miles to go) 

Pace for the Year: 1.83 miles (.8%) BEHIND pace 

Around the Web:

1. Why Police Officers Lie Under Oath

2. The One Article You Need to Read About the Postal Service

3. Searching for Consciousness in an Injured Brain

Running Playlist:

Wild Nothing

Food: 

4 cups of coffee, organic multi-grain bread, peanut butter, kashi cereal with milk, banana-yogurt-carrot smoothie, tortilla chips, organic salsa, coke zero

All the best.

Leave a Reply

